Mors Mystica: Black Metal Theory Symposium (forthcoming, 2015)

Mors Mystica: Black Metal Theory Symposium. Edited by Edia Connole and Nicola Masciandaro.

Only that person who says: My soul chooses hanging, and my bones death can truly embrace this fire . . . for it is absolutely true that no one can see me and live.

– Bonaventure, The Journey of the Mind into God

In this endless extreme tomb of weeping sadness, / I am embraced by the cosmic force of night.

– Inquisition, Into the Infernal Regions of the Ancient Cult

A collection of essays based on the proceedings of Mors Mystica, a black metal theory symposium taking place at St. Vitus Bar in Brooklyn on 25 April 2015. Focusing on the theme of mystical death (ego death, annihilation of the mind/self, fana, man-o-nash), the writings offer diverse theoretical exposures of the living intersection between mysticism and black metal.


Autonomy of Death, Nothing Like This – Daniel Colucciello Barber

Ablaze in the Bath of Fire – Brad Baumgartner

‘Don’t worry Kyoko (Mummy’s Only Looking for Her Hand in the Snow)’ – Charlie Blake

Xenharmonic Black Metal: Radical Intervallics as Apophatic Ontotheology – Brooker Buckingham

Seven Propositions On the Secret Kissing of Black Metal: OSKVLVM – Edia Connole

The Day of My Death Had Finally Arrived – Simon Critchley

Following the Stench: Watain and Putrefaction Mysticism – Drew Daniel

‘It’s a suit! It’s ME!’: Hyper-Star and Hyper-Hero through Black Sabbath’s Iron Man  – Caoimhe Doyle & Katherine Foyle

dying to find I was never there – Teresa Gillespie

Mycelegium – James Harris

The Perichoresis of Music, Art, and Philosophy – Hunter Hunt Hendrix

How Dead is a Corpse-Painted Face? Patterns of a Visual Mysticism – Dominik Irtenkauf

Memoriam – Ed Keller

Floating Tomb: On Inquisition – Nicola Masciandaro

On Darkness Itself – Niall W. R. Scott

The Tongue-Tied Mystic: Aaaarrrgghhh! Fuck Them! Fuck You! – Gary J. Shipley

Sirr – Ulku Tekten

Black Bile – Eugene Thacker

This Place is A Tomb: Infinite Terror in Darkspace– Dylan Trigg